Thursday 27 October 2022

Borders Trophy - message from our Past Captain Denise RIchards

 Good Morning Ladies

My last wee message to all our Border Lady golfers. I would just like to thank everyone for their support over the 2022 season and wish you all well for 2023 under the new leadership of Kirsty and her committee.

The AGM was well supported on Monday evening and under the section of AOB I brought to the attention of the ladies, a competition which was organized and run by each club alphabetically over the years but was NOT a BLCGA competition.

The Jedburgh ladies brought me a "Black box" at the end of our season which they had come across in their club and thought it would be of interest to us. It contained the minutes / constitution of the competition which was played for from 1949-2009. Kirsty and I have been trying to locate the two trophies, we have managed to find the Lady Henderson Trophy, silver division (the original county champion) but we have not found the Pettigrew Cup for the bronze.

Please could I ask everyone to hunt in their club's cupboards/ storage areas to help us locate the cup, it is a silver quaich 20cm diameter engraved "Pettigrew Cup Border Ladies Golf Tournament  - bronze division'  the trophy has two plinths, one wooden and one black.

Peebles /Hirsel/Melrose and Torwoodlee have been checked.

We would really like to start the competition again as it seems a shame to have these historical trophies sitting in cupboards.
Please contact us on our email to say if you have searched your clubs with or without success.

Many Thanks 
Denise Richards (Past Captain)

Tuesday 25 October 2022

Message from our new captain - Kirsty Inkpen

 First of all it was lovely to see so many faces at last night's AGM which was held at Melrose Golf Club. Thank you to all the ladies that turned up and also to Melrose Golf Club for allowing us to hold the AGM there.

I would personally like to take this opportunity to thank Denise Richards for all the hard work she has put into the Border Ladies County over a number of years I think its fair to say we may not of had a County Association without her efforts in keeping it going. Well done Denise.

I am really honoured to be taking on the role as the County Captain. I have been a member of the county for over 30 years and loved every minute of it. Golf is a great game although can be very frustrating at times but we make so many friends along the way and see some wonderful courses.

I would also like to wish Dawn Tomlinson (Hirsel GC) all the best for the year ahead as the Border Vets Captain.

See below the 2023 fixtures for you all to see. I think the V1 has helped with our communication and allowed us to reach a far wider audience and keep everyone up to date with all things Borderladies Golf.

Please remember if you have any questions just email and we will get back to as soon as we can.

I look forward to seeing everyone for the new season in 2023

Kirsty Inkpen


Thanks to all who attended the County AGM  held at Melrose Golf Club, it was great to see you all and thank you for your support.

The winners of 2022 Order of Merit Sharon Paterson (Silver) from Kelso and Caroline Fairnie (Bronze) from Hirsel

Our new Captain Kirsty Inkpen receiving her Captain's badge from Denise Richards

Monday 10 October 2022

BLCGA AGM - Melrose 24th Oct

Our AGM this year will be held at Melrose Golf Club on Monday 24th Oct at 1900hrs everyone welcome, it would be great if we could have representation from all the clubs, as our dates for 2023 will be confirmed on the night ready to start your golfing diary.

We are more than happy to hear any ideas of how to keep moving the County forward.
Look forward to seeing you on the 24th.

Order of Merit 2022

 Order of Merit 2022

Points have been awarded throughout the season to everyone taking part and extra points for 1st -5th place in all competitions.


1st Sharon Paterson 27 pts

2nd = Gillian Lithgow / Kirsty Inkpen 25 pts

4th Fiona Ker 22 pts

5th Ali Melvin 20 pts


1st Caroline Fairnie 25pts

2nd Fiona Melrose 22 pts

3rd Pat Turnbull 20 pts

4th Anne Paterson 17 pts

5th Flora Kerr 14 pts
Trophies will be awarded at the AGM

Sunday 9 October 2022

Lawrie quaich - Minto 9th October

What a lucky day we all had yesterday at Minto getting around the course dry, well all but the last 3 groups.
We had 18 teams take part with 15 ladies on their first outing of the season so we hope we will see you early in 2023.
The scores range form 58-66 so congratulations to the Innerleithen ladies winning the event
1st – 58 
Sarah Glendinning / Alison Notman / Kaye Sutherland / Linda Peebles

2nd - 59  Linda Geetons / Sene Paterson / Joan English / Gillian Lithgow

3rd - 60 (count back)  Leanne Wilson / Sharon Paterson / Sharon Lees / Doreen Pringle

Vouchers will be forwarded to your club.

Many thanks for everyone who has supported the County Association for 2022, looking forward to 2023 already.


Monday 3 October 2022

Lawrie Quaich Texas Scramble ⛳

We are off to Minto Golf Club on Sunday(9th Oct) for our last event of the 2022 season.

Tee Times as follows:


J Michie / M Adams / F Kerr / C Thom


A Paterson / M Bland / A Holton / J Brown


 F Melrose / C Fairnie / I Hume / M Taylor


M Pow / D Cassidy / A Rutherford / C Purves 


M Smail / K Chapman / H Hughes / P Hogg


L Geatons / S Paterson / M Towers / J English


J Shirra-Gibb / V Shirra-Gibb / K Nelson / L Bell


A Allan / J Beattie / D Elliot / M Rae


S Coltman / C Dalgleish / F Robson / J Smith


M Walker / A Thomson / H Forbes / J Dixon


S Glendinning / A Norman / K Sutherland / L Peebles


I Swan / J Roberts / M Gotterson / J Preston


D Richards / S Welsh / K Brackenridge / S Whiteford


B Scott / N Millar / J Davis / M Fallas


M Morrison / A Cockburn / F Turnbull / L Spalding


P Robson / P Laing / A Wilson / E Pearson


L Wilson / S Paterson / S Lees / D Pringle 


P Cessford / K Inkpen / A Melvin / R Wigmore 

Good Luck Teams, Enjoy! 🏌️